The Gold Spark Plug Award is presented by the SCFMS for outstanding service to the federation. The recipients are distinguished by their ability to lead and inspire others. Like the spark plug in any engine, he or she provides the necessary spark to cause the engine to run, and run well. The Gold Spark Plug Award is the highest honor presented by the SCFMS. Those of us who have been the beneficiary of the efforts of the current and past recipients salute these wonderful folks and say, "Well done!"

The award is presented annually when a deserving candidate is identified. Occasionally more than one person may receive the award in the same year. The Gold Spark Plug Award is presented at the annual Awards Banquet held each year at the SCFMS Federation show. Past recipients and the chairman comprise the selection committee. Receiving this award is a true compliment because it is given by peers who often have stood alongside, shoulder to shoulder, with the recipient doing the work that makes the Federation great!

1991- Ed Immel (d)

"Mr. Rockhound" President of the old Texas Federation. First President of the AFMS from the SCFMS. Pioneer collector of material from the Big Bend area.

1992 - Mignon Wagner (d)

President and Newsletter editor fo several SCFMS clubs. Executive Secretary of SCFMS and AFMS for several years.

1993 - Bill Cox

President of SCFMS and AFMS. Originator of the current AFMS Officer rotation system.

1994 - Ed Ries

President of SCFMS and AFMS. Chairman of the Endowment Fund Committee that has raised significant funds for the SCFMS.

1994 - Simonne Wood (d)

Editor of the Rollin' Rock Club Newsletter. Simonne promoted the SCFMS through her worldwide contacts.

1996 - Gala Ries

Editor of the SCFMS Newsletter for 14 years.

1998 - Jean Wallace

For many years her club newsletter was one of the best in the AFMS. As Federation Bulletin Aids Chair she served all clubs in the Federation.

1998 - Emmette Wallace (d)

Represented the SCFMS at numerous international shows for many years.

1998 - Bill Jennings (d)

Chairman of the Gold Spark Plug Award committee. President of the SCFMS and Vice President of the AFMS.

2000 - George Browne (d)

President of the SCFMS. Expanded the federation membership by offering a new Federation Insurance Program.

2001 - William and Lois Patillo

Promoted our hobby and the federation by exhibiting their Rock Food Table at shows and by appearing on television and in many newspaper and magazine articles. Bill was President of the SCFMS also.

2003 - Paul Good

Presented for outstanding service to the federation as editor of the SCFMS Newsletter and SCFMS Directory. Paul has kept the clubs and the membership up to date on all the Federation activities. His award winning newsletter has been a major key to the successful growth of the Federation.

2010 - Emerson Tucker

Emerson has served as President and Vice President of the Lubbock Gem and Mineral Society, Treasurer and Secretary of the Rollin' Rock Club, President, Vice President and Endowment Fund Treasurer of SCFMS. Executive Board Ways and Means, Scholarship Foundation Vice President, Vice President, President Elect and President for AFMS.

2011 - Mary Trammell

Mary has served as President of the SCFMS and can always be counted on to bring specimens for the silent auction at SCFMS shows. Through her work on the nominating committee for over a decade she has shown patience and enthusiasm, convincing many folks of the benefits of service to the federation. As SCFMS Show Chairman for many years she has been instrumental in obtaining great sites for our annual meeting.

2012 – Keith Harmon

Keith has served as President of the SCFMS as well as treasurer for many years. He was responsible for arguably the most important benefit for member clubs, the liability insurance program. He is known for cracking geodes at many of the federation shows and is always willing to give a helping hand to aspiring rockhounds. He has donated many specimens and material for educational purposes.

2013 – Don Shurtz

As well as serving in numerous positions in his local club, Don has served for many years as Bulletin Aids Chairman. He has stepped in often when no one else was able to do the work. He even has done the BAC job twice in spite of his extremely busy work schedule, taking over again when the volunteer who had done the job before was unable to continue. He has spent countless hours reorganizing and updating the federation web site as the new webmaster. He has agreed to become the SCFMS treasurer when the term of our current treasurer expires. He exemplifies the nature of the type of person who we wish to honor.

2014 – Virginia Adian

As well as serving in her former club as President, Vice President, Secretary, Show Chairman, and activities director she has served the federation as a variety of roles. She has served as President and Vice President in the past and currently serves as Past President, AFMS Scholarship Fund SCFMS chairman, AFMS First Vice President, on the SCFMS Long Range Planning Committee, the Constitution and Bylaws Committee, and the Auditing Committee. She is a very skilled and kind teacher, especially of wire wrapping and has been instrumental in bringing many into the joys of rockhounding and wire wrapping. She models a true ambassador for our wonderful hobby!

2015 - Ron Carmen

Ron hails originally from Oklahoma and has been married for 45 years with two children. Spending his adult life in the Houston and Austin areas, he has many passions including aviation which became his profession as a flight instructor and air traffic controller. He also is involved with the Boy Scouts, amateur radio, and served as president of the Austin Astronomical Society. With all of that, he managed to find time to serve with the Mineral Special Interest Group of Austin, as an officer in both the Houston and Austin Gem and Mineral Societies, on the SCFMS Uniform Rules Committee for over 35 years, AND as president of both the SCFMS and AFMS. All of the prior winners thought he had already been chosen to receive this award long ago. He obviously is a well-deserving recipient.

(d) deceased